IGNORED

Pure Data

Guest TooMuchLush

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Not a ton of experience with it, But I pick at it occasionally. A friend of mine is into the pdvst function, which he has shared with me for the project we are working on. Makes PD extremely useful, especially if you use a vst compatible interface for song construction or whatever.

i say if you are going to use pd you should probably get max/msp month trial to learn how the program flow works and go on from there.

max is way more user friendly and has a lot of documentation. it will show you the method in which you put together stuff. once you run out of the month of maxmsp you can move onto pd with a better understanding.

btw in this case

most definately do all tutorials!!

Say I have a linux machine.

Say I have a choice between learning chuck, pd, or supercollider

Say I have plenty of programming experience so learning to code some stuff in a new language isn't a daunting idea at all.

Does anyone have a recommendation between these three?

tftt: pd isn't really a programming experience, it's connecting-the-boxes type of interface. but very soon you find yourself using your programming experience to make it do what you want, since the built-in elements are very low-level. i like it, spent many hours playing with it, never made/finished anything serious with it though.

supercollider is programmer's heaven, that is, OOP-programmer's heaven. it is very similar to smalltalk and c++, syntax wise (if you are one of those anti-OOP purists it'll frustrate the fuck out of you).

you really need OOP experience because the documentation is meager (it spans about 3000 pages, covering only a few percentages of the language). you'll have to snoop around in class definitions and source code. basically it is a lot of low-level effort, blood sweat & tears, plus weeks of code-monging, BUT:

it is the most powerful synthesis package you'll come across