IGNORED

Aphex Twin - Fenixfunk 5 synth

gritbox

One of my favorite sounds is the synth from Fenixfunk 5 that runs from 1:14 to 1:45, I was hoping someone on here would be able to explain what it is. Im pretty new to making my own synth sounds so I cant tell if its some sort of modulated saw or a sample of a high pitched string being plucked. Its so beautiful, i want to eat it :(

Guest Glass Plate

I'm not even going to look up at that part of the song, and just say Synton Fenix to troll.

I think i phrased what I was trying to say wrong, sorry. Im wondering what the waveform of that sound is and how it can be made, or if it is a sample being run through distortion and things.

comb filter, yeah, maybe a formant, too. most likely a sawtooth with a little drive on it? or some serious resonance.

I happened to be messing with my nord modular when I opened this thread. So I decided to make an example. It's certainly not the exact thing, but it's decent approximation to give you the gist.

Needs more decay, better feedback, and modulating but I got bored so here ya go.

http://soundcloud.com/katiekilobyte/afx-fenix-funk-zomg

afxfenixcomb.jpg

edit: lol @ two amp env's forgot to delete the other one. I may not have played the right notes either i just listened to that part real quick. This is making me a bit disappointed with the nord's feedback on the comb, I must explore this more.

If I'm in the mood I'll do it in vaz modular later. I know that comb filter in and out.

there ye go.

yeah noise is better, as is the string osc in the g2. And 4 saws was not necc. I just liked the way it sounded ;P i made a really cool droney patch out of it.

you could get similar stuff for fm synthesis if you spent a lot of time on it. clangy clang. =D

in other words, pay attention to ryan, not me

Guest ryanmcallister

lol aww brandi you hit the nail on the head i just drove it in the rest of the way.