IGNORED

Audioengine A5+ speakers: Opinions?

Avarik

Dear experts,

Does anyone have an opinion of the Audioengine A5+ speaker setup? They show up on Massdrop frequently and I've been thinking of picking them up, and adding the 8" sub they make at some point.

Or, can anyone recommend a set of desktop speakers for music listening around this price point? Ideally I'm looking for something that performs well at lower volumes because it won't be turned up to 11 often.

Maybe there's a mega thread about speakers that I missed, if so link plx

I'm a newb at desktop DACs and HiFi systems and whatnot but I want the best for my FLACs

well, i wanted to namedrop the wharfedale 10.1 i have which do need an amp. when i was looking for a budget "best value for money" set they were the most popular option a few years ago (they're about 350$ now), maybe there's something better now, i dunno. anyway, if 400$ is your budget i don't really believe you can get a decent amp for ~50$. on the other hand you definitely wont need a sub with 10.1, they're incredibly capable in that regard, i watch films with them all the time, and you'll be more flexible with a separate amp/speakers for future upgrades.

JBL LSR305 ? ive got the 8's and would recommend either of them to anyone. brilliant speakers. cheap too. the tech is from the old flagship M1's that were £££ years ago.

read the reviews. 90% are all commendation :]

Guest murphythecat8

Ive seen terrible reviews of the JBL lsr series, I would not get this at all. Ivge seena guy compare the jbl to even the yamaha ns-10 which can be ahd used in your price range.

why do you want monitors? why not hifi speakers?

In monitors studio, you seriously pay for what you get overall. especially new. So a 1k for the pair of monitor like adam A7x or focal cms 50 (I used to own those) will be miles better then any sub 500$ monitors