IGNORED

What are some good Mastering Plugins?

metoninho

Hey guys.

I'm just getting into the mastering process and I was wondering what sort of plugins or equipment you guys use to master with. I'm talking more in terms of the types of compressors, eq, limiters etc rather than a set mastering plugin like Ozone. Hope that makes sense

Just after an idea to you know, bounce off more ideas :)

As Skibby said, fix whatever you can in the mixing. Assuming you've already done that though, some suggestions :

I'm a beta tester for Tokyo Dawn Labs, and sincerely think they have some of the very, very best sounding plugins, with great ergonomics, ridiculously affordable prices and great overall philosophy : SlickEQ GE and Feedback Compressor 2 (which is likely to get an update soon)

You can also grab Limiter6, which is a stunning compressor/limiter combo, by one of the 2 guys at Tokyo Dawn Labs.

Do yourself a favor and check Klanghelm's as well. SDRR is the finest saturator (and then some), and DC8C 2 is a marvelous dynamic swiss knife.

If you're looking for a "mastered to tape" sound, U-He's Satin is the best tape emu you'll find. Insanely good plugin, equally great company !

Finally, if you're on a mac, you should have a look at Airwindows plugins. Unique take on audio plugins.

These are all very affordable plugins, so don't let the price fool you : these are "professional" tools. Most of the times, these are one-man companies, relying on the quality of their work instead of expensive marketing to sell products. When buying Waves, Fabfilter, IK, Slates, UAD... you also pay for their fancy ads, vids, etc...

My 2 cents, hope it helps !

Awesome guys, thanks for the responses. I've just started a mastering short course so yeah was interested to see what people are using out there.

I'll definitely be keeping that rule of thumb in mind before I go overboard haha

Cheers!