IGNORED

Any Maschine users? is the 2.0 software update, worth the price?

ghOsty

So I'm finally starting to overcome my creative rut, and feeling inspired to start making music again, so I've decided to better familiarize myself with my Maschine Mk2 which has been pretty criminally neglected for the last year. Now I see the software has been upgraded to the 2.0 version, is it worth the $99 to upgrade especially considering I'm still learning my way around the Maschine?

• 3 years later...

Resurrecting this old thread to ask if:

a) ghOsty are you still using Maschine?

b) is anyone here using Maschine (any hardware or software versions really)? I've been hunting tons of info online for some stuff and I'm learning a lot but still have some questions about it.

Note: I don't actually own it (had long ago purchased the first one, I think, and it was stolen like a week later). Just on Ableton/Push but have considered swapping over to Maschine (this is not often suggested from what I've seen). Also I own Reaktor and am curious about integration with Maschine software/hardware.

I have the mk2, but haven't upgraded the software. My only problem is with the hardware. The backlights in the little displays flicker or do not light up unless I tap on them. I hear that's a common problem though. Annoying anyway. Also the knobs act a bit wonky. Sometimes the parameters jump all over the place, back and forth if I'm just trying to do a little adjustment.

Could also be a problem with the usb-cable being shit quality and not giving enough electricity or something I dunno.

ANYWAYS

It's a nice little thing that I use quite a lot and it can be used in many creative ways. Not just making boring boom-bap beats. If you really get into the effects, pitch shifting and all that stuff, you can get pretty wild sounds out with it.