IGNORED

Beginner Minimalistic setup

Allize

Hi guys, I'm thinking of buying some gear. I'm inexperienced in these things. I'm used to read conversations and threads about gear but that's mostly because the toys kinda fascinate me. I don't have alot of money either so i'm pointing to cheaper stuff.

I've been thinking on buying 2 machines from the volca series (havent decided wich, there's the beats, the sampler, the bass, and the keys one) or an akai rythm wolf + 2 machines from the volca series. In total that must account for 500$. What do you think?

Do you want to go hardware only? I'm just starting out first time myself and started by buying a monotron to mess around with, then got the volca keys, the volca bass followed shortly after and a cheap drum machine from eBay (zoom 234). Also a mixer to hook it all up (Mackie proFX). Its enough to jam around on but if you want to go software too all you would need is a DAW and some keys and that gives way more freedom and options to start with.

Unless you already make music and just want to get some hardware? I haven't heard great things about the rhythm wolf.

Not full hardware, I'd use a DAW. But yes I think I'd prefer to learn my ways through hardware and analogue. I also thought about the monotron but it looked too limited.

Do you recommend your setup? How much did you spend in total?

I think you could easily have post that into EKT for more exposure (maybe a mod can fix that).

I first thought you were actually willing to start with music making and acquire a couple of simple machines to get a basic workflow. The fact you already use a DAW quite changes the possible answers. But you should probably think about what kind of instrument you would like to have especially, or which one you miss with software. Then you might want to consider buying something second hand, which could lead you to more powerful gear for the same amount of money.