IGNORED

Clark scores new crime thriller series The Last Panthers

Perezvon

It all started on a porch in Melbourne with a viola and a contact mic. I've never worked on anything like this before and it's probably the most exciting / fun / at times panic inducing thing I've ever done.

The narrative of the show is vast, deep. It spans many different eras in the characters lives, so it needed to be coherent. The intention was to make the unfolding stories of the characters seem lucid and effortless.

Seeing the show get edited down to this concise, six part slab of dramatic excellence was inspiring, and definitely helped the music stay fresh. I'm honoured that The Last Panthers is the first foray into film I've had, it's an immense project to be involved in.

'The Last Panthers' will air on Sky Atlantic starting 12th November 2015.

First track :

https://soundcloud.com/throttleclark/omni-vignette

nice

That plus the theme by Bowie, I'm interested :

Interesting they had Bowie do the titles, but Clark do the soundtrack - perhaps Bowie was too expensive or didn't want to do a full soundtrack?

It's co-produced by Warp Films actually. Might explain that. But of course the director phrases it in a poetic way :

Renck says: "In scoring the series, it felt idiotic to not tap into one of the founding corners of Warp. Thus, we were enamoured by artist Chris Clark and the collaboration found its shape quickly. Chris's sensibilities and brazen creativity was bang on for a score to deal with everything from the Biblical grandeur of the story, via brooding darkness all the way over to tender sentimentality. He had it covered."

http://www.residentadvisor.net/news.aspx?id=32105

• 5 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

OST LP announced

Clark’s score for ‘The Last Panthers’ will be released 18 March 2016 on Warp Records. Available as an LP, Download and special Limited Edition CD in case bound sleeve, individually numbered with silver foil stamp to back cover.