IGNORED

The Guitar Thread

LimpyLoo

So I'm about to take a cab out to take a lesson with one of Lenny Breau's old students

and I'm freaking out a bit (in a good way)

and I thought it'd be radbeans to have a thread for all things related to guitar...

from playing them to looking at them to whatever.

Here's some Lenny Breau stuff:

(TL;DR = Lenny Breau was a guitar savant from Maine...he struggled
with heroin addiction and died mysteriously and tragically...found
floating in a pool with a belt around his neck...who knows what happened)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPmj30rKjqQ

Here is one of my idols Kurt Rosenwinkel just taking the piss:

and here is a clinic excerpt he did on chord-melody:

Anyway, how many guitarists does WATMM have?

• Replies 143
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i started playing guitar in 2004. i stopped getting better in 2008. i got worse from 2008 to 2010. then i recouped a little from 2010 to now.

i was real into percussive playing from 2007-2008, just trying to make up my own style. now i'm kind of a soft night forest cabin guitar type of person.

i don't get real hard into makes or models. i have 2 acoustic guitars (steel and nylon), 2 electrics (which i almost never use), and also a banjo and a gold tone octave mandolin.

current favorite is the nylon.

I've been a guitarist for 25 years (fuck!). I've moved away from playing guitar a little but I still love to jam out on my Steinberger.

I just bought one of these, actually

It uses the GK pickup not only for synth sounds, but for *guitar* modelling, processing each string individually to make it sound like different guitars (including fkn banjo and nylon string classical). It even has some crazy good stuff like polyphonic distortion, which sounds pretty majestic. Plus, the built-in synth engines are actually pretty deep for something in a guitar pedal.