Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'box set'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • General Discussion
    • Music Discussion
    • WATMM Featured Artists
    • General Banter
  • Expert Knob Twiddlers
    • EKT General Discussion
    • Your Latest Creations
    • EKT New Releases


  • Joyrex's Blog
  • assorted ramblings
  • A hateful blog
  • them groovy dinosaur thoughts
  • Kcinsu
  • q
  • wahrk's Blog
  • wahrk's non-wahrk Blog
  • patternoverlap's Blog
  • The Narrow End of the Night
  • Quiet Time With Alzado
  • jreid
  • BCM's Blog
  • BCM's Blog
  • My Bolg
  • hautlle's Blog
  • ¡MÚSICA ARRIBA! watmm blog
  • chenGOD's Blog
  • Hobermonster's Ears
  • watmm minecraft blog
  • Macca's Blog
  • en<3y
  • clevreuse's Blog
  • On Wooden Boys That Skin Their Knees
  • pera's Blog
  • Spore's Blog
  • fuck anime
  • andihow's Blog
  • delet...er...lee yorz
  • Deepex's Blog
  • Chris Moss Acid's Blog
  • G. I. Raffe's Blog
  • Deepex's Blog
  • fun zone
  • ezrablog
  • brog
  • chris moss acid's Blog
  • Fuck Tri
  • chaosmachine's Blog
  • Jaffa's Blog
  • Jaffa's Blog
  • hoggy's Blog
  • music (AD)ventures
  • Split Pan Genus
  • StephenG's Blog
  • Blog of Facts
  • Npoess' Blog
  • Daily Ambient
  • Rubin Farr's Blog
  • Squarer's Blorg
  • azatroths blaargh
  • MDM Chaos' Blog
  • very honest's Blog
  • dcomμnications


There are no results to display.

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start




My Discogs

My SoundCloud

My Bandcamp


Website URL




3DS Friend Code

Wii U Username

Nintendo ID

Found 2 results

  1. I haven't posted about this series at WATMM yet, but now that it's completely finished (minus a very special remix effort underway) I figured it would probably appeal to a few people here who appreciate things like GAS and the deeper side of the techno pool. Basically it all started with that Rachmaninoff 3LP set of Isle Of The Dead that xxx was posting about here (remember that?). When he was selling some vinyl off I bought that from him, among other things, and thought at the time it could be cool to really take it all the way into deep techno territory, since the material was already very much along those lines. What ended up happening was much bigger than I could have ever expected. I ended up turning out over an hour of recordings for every side of the 3LP set. I built these pieces almost completely live with the worn out vinyl being almost completely by itself as the non-rhythmic source sound, run through reel to reel tape loop processing, a series of hardware FX such as loopers, delays, reverbs, a flanger, a phase modulator and an 8 track mixer. The rhythmic and bass elements were done with three different drum machines run through similar processing, I decided to focus the sessions on a loose arc of time passing in a dense forest acre - volumes 1 and 2 would be pre-dawn/sunrise, volumes 3 and 4 would be midday/sunshine, and volumes 4 and 5 would be sunset/dusk/late night. I wrote several abstract pieces of text to accompany the music as well, and took a bunch of lo-fi Holga photographs for all of the album art. All the pieces were left unnamed, to add to the elemental, sprawling side of the music. In the end it amounted to almost 10 hours of music. 7 different volumes of work, plus Verdant Versions - a Basic Channel BCD-styled compilation of one track from each volume, reworked in a more club-friendly rhythm-heavy form. Then I produced the epilogue piece - Verdant Overgrowth - which is an 80 minute suite that collects and seamlessly mixes every rhythm track from the entire set over an ambient backdrop reduction of all six sides of the original vinyl. I pressed 50 copies of each release individually, then compiled them all in a limited box set at the end. Now, everything from the physical run is out of print (except a small amount of copies of volumes 4/5/6 and Overgrowth) so I've taken some time to put together a definitive digital version of the whole thing. http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-acre-box-set You can also now buy the individual volumes digitally too: http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-acre-volume-one http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-acre-volume-two http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-acre-volume-three http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-acre-volume-four http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-acre-volume-five http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-acre-volume-six http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-versions http://coppicehalifax.bandcamp.com/album/verdant-overgrowth I know this is a massive amount of music to experience and digest, but I'm incredibly proud of it all and I hope some of you here can dig it as much as I have.
  2. "On November 22, Jeff Mangum will self-release a vinyl-only box set compiling the band's entire output, including fifteen previously unreleased tracks. The set includes 1996's On Avery Island and 1998's In the Aeroplane Over the Sea, the Everything IsEP, an EP comprised of unreleased material, Ferris Wheel on Fire, a picture disk 7" for "Holland, 1945", a 7" featuring two unreleased songs, "You've Passed" b/w "Where You'll Find Me Now", a 7" that includes unreleased and live versions of the song "Little Birds", and two 24" by 24" posters." Up for preorder at $88. I've grown out of the NMH/Elephant 6 camp of musicians, but this is mighty interesting news, especially after (aside from some live solo shows) there have been no Mangum developments for years. And the box set looks quite nice.
  • Create New...