IGNORED

Sampling Synths

YEK

Just curious how you people sample your synths. Do you sample one note and transpose it or sample long melody phrases. I bought a couple synths and am a bit confused how to integrate them into my setup.

Also I'd prefer to sequence in my daw and I'm not that good with playing keys by hand but I could...

Edited by yekker

3 minutes ago, sweepstakes said:

Yes.

(Phrases are usually more fun)

But if you do by hand without midi and you don't like it you have to find that sound again.

Do you program with midi?

Edited by yekker

2 hours ago, yekker said:

But if you do by hand without midi and you don't like it you have to find that sound again.

Do you program with midi?

Keep it punk rock, do it by hand. More fun that way. The recording is a truer form of the full experience.

MIDI just gives you more hands/fingers.

I don't really multisample anything, if I'm sampling something it's because I want it to get all pitch shifted and weird so I'll do at most one note per octave but more often  it's just a bunch of different chord voicings in C3 or C4 and even that's pretty rare because 99% of the time it's 90s MPC style sampling and chopping up a complete mix, whether it's my own or off of a record or VHS or something.

For the last couple years, partly out of convenience and partly for the sound, I do most of my sampling on a semi-broken SP-303 username Limpyloo mailed to me years ago (THANK YOU!!!!) in my living room where my turntable is and then I take it into the spare room I use as a studio and sample it from the 303 outputs on the sampler I actually want to use it in.

As far as I'm concerned, it's easy enough to make a high quality multisampled instrument now that it's more compelling to do your sampling shitty.

Edited by TubularCorporation
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, TubularCorporation said: