IGNORED

Anyone play chess? (there is currently a massive popularity boom)

Brisbot

Edit: Since I made this thread, I have come across 3 instances where people are talking about chess in activities that have nothing to do with chess. Online and one while I was out and about. This is really strange. IDK if before I started chess I was running into people talking about it but didn't take notice, OR if it really is becoming THAT big.

Anyone hopped on the current Chess popularity boom, here? I just started playing chess about 2 weeks ago and it's surprisingly engaging. I've known how to play for a long time, but past two weeks I have been playing a game or two daily. Very  fun and Easy flow state access as you have to concentrate the whole time if you want to win. 

I asked people at work about chess and found out a few people started playing chess within the past few months. There was a lot of drama that resulted in people paying attention to chess, even non-chess players. And apparently there is a popular youtuber league where popular youtubers play against each other. Which you know, causes an influx of new chess players.

https://www.chess.com/ - the largest chess website. It has lessons and puzzles as well but it's behind a paywall, so I recommend lichess.org if you wanna up your game for free. The tactic puzzles are great. And has lessons for beginners -> advanced.

Edited by Brisbot
  • Like 2

Yeah man I like a spot of chess

One of the best New Year's Eve's I've had in recent years was just me and my wife playing chess and drinking cocktails. Was awesome.

Edited by BCM
  • Like 2

I started a couple of years ago on chess.com too, was more fun than I remember but I'm still too lazy to learn any real openings, it's a beautiful game imo

On 2/3/2023 at 11:30 AM, Summon Dot E X E said: