IGNORED

I played 54 Cymru Beats

Dale

and yeah, you can guess his reaction.

With this track, you have to understand what it's about.. I also believe that with any of Richard's music, you need a certain level of musical intelligence in order to take in everything happening in Drukqs per second.. the look on his face when it reached the climax near to the end was indescribable.

bobby640x480ga0.jpg

He said "WTF, THAT IS NOT MUSIC"..

Anyone else experienced this when introducing Drukqs to a complete noob, and has never entered the realms of the electronic music world? I guess it is not the most accessible album if Richard's, but it was that album which got me into The Aphex Twin.

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

you need a certain level of musical intelligence in order to take in everything happening in Drukqs per second.. the look on his face when it reached the climax near to the end was indescribable.

Anyone else experienced this when introducing Drukqs to a complete noob, and has never entered the realms of the electronic music world? I guess it is not the most accessible album if Richard's, but it was that album which got me into The Aphex Twin.

I try to reserve certain Aphex tracks when trying to introduce someone to Richard's work. I'll only play RDJ tracks around certain people who I think are more musically open than others. You know more times than not you will get a not so pleasant or non-enthusiastic reaction if you play it to just anyone. When I first started listening to Aphex Twin some of the stuff didn't sit easy with me, different, but that's what I loved about it, irritably soothing. It always grows on me more and more.

What tracks would anyone here suggest to be good tracks to introduce someone to RDJ? Keep in mind your favorite tracks may not be the most easily accessible tracks to non-listeners of RDJ. I guess it all depends on someone's taste in music as well...