IGNORED

Mp3s last forever

MadnessR

I've been ripping and downloading music for 10+ years now. I have 200+ gigs. I keep a "work" folder for tracks that don't have proper ID3 tags or album art ect.. After I fix them I move them to a "burn" folder. Once that folder reaches 4.5 gigs, I burn it to DVD for backup and move the Mp3s to my library. I was interested in buying a blu-ray burner, but external hard drives are cheaper than blank blu-rays. I'm thinking of buying another external just for backup. How do you backup your music? :music:

Guest tht tne

I've been ripping and downloading music for 10+ years now. I have 200+ gigs. I keep a "work" folder for tracks that don't have proper ID3 tags or album art ect.. After I fix them I move them to a "burn" folder. Once that folder reaches 4.5 gigs, I burn it to DVD for backup and move the Mp3s to my library. I was interested in buying a blu-ray burner, but external hard drives are cheaper than blank blu-rays. I'm thinking of buying another external just for backup. How do you backup your music? :music:

2tb external, mirrored on dvd-rs

Guest tht tne

And how much time do you spend renaming, id3s and artwork? (mp3tag has saved me ALOT of time)

0... all my mp3s come correct because they're from wat

Guest tht tne

I have a certain format for my filenames because I refuse to use itunes. If you collect music the way I do, you have to have a system.

i nicked my system off this guy on slsk, example from my autechre folder:

[ep] 1994 anti ep

[lp] 1993 incunabula

[single] 1991 cavity job

all my folders are organized that way

Guest futuregirlfriend

for downloaded things i tag and download art with discogs foobar plugin

rename files with this file operation: $if(%tracknumber%,%tracknumber%). %title%

move files with this (and a few more for compilations, splits etc): $left($stripprefix(%artist%),1)\%album artist%\%album%\%filename%

and i don't bother backing up.