IGNORED

Hardware Drum Machine thread

Guest The Bro

Guest Promo

Guys this is just a fun indulgent thread about hardware Drum Machines you have and why you rate them etc. I'll be perfectly honest I'm new to owning a hardware Drum Machine as I just got myself a Yamaha RX-15 on Monday and am loving it!! The sounds are right up my street and its got midi so all good. Anyways over to you lot!!

yamaha%20rx15.jpg

• Replies 198
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest kokeboka

rm1x.jpg

It's a bit more than a drum machine, but that's mostly how I use it. Got it second-hand some 10 years ago, my very first piece of gear. Fun to manipulate in real time, easy to sequence, full MIDI in and out. Taught myself how to sequence drums with this, and I've used it for lots of different things over the years. It's not exactly a Machinedrum, but I hold it dear to me.

i love hardware drum machines... but due to money issues i'm selling my TR-626 if anyone's interested... :( £125

it's a wicked machine though - very similar sounding to the 707, seperate outs, trigger out, MIDI etc..will be sad to see it go

My first drum machine was a Roland R8.

The first beat I ever programmed on it was 7 Ways to Jack by Hercules

and then No Way Back by Adonis

and then Reckless by Ice T/Dave Storrs.... (I used the 808 cards for all three, even though 7 ways to jack is a 707, cause I'm just a fuckin bad man like that).

Of all the drum machines Ive owned I think the 909 is the best... I wish the 808 sequencer was the same as the 909's....

Guest EleminoP

Thinking about picking up an RX-8 from craigs for $25 for the purpose of circuit bending and the 80's.

This was my first drum machine, the Roland DR-202. I loved it back then (13 years ago maybe?). It's focus was much more on electronic/dance type sounds.

dr202.jpg

So then I wanted some more standard drum sounds, and so I got the DR-770. At the time, I also loved this one (again, about 12 years ago)

Boss_DR-770.jpg