IGNORED

How to Tell If You’re an Amateur Musician

Guest Rulohead32

I definitely decided I want to become a professional musician of some kind (not necessarily idm) but I understand now I'm a very amateur musician who has to still learn a lot and a lot.

i dunno, he didn't seem to be promoting the idea of "professionalism" that hard imo (on the contrary actually).

According to the French and Latin roots of the word, to be an amateur is to be “a lover.” One who loves, and one who does out of love. How amazing is that? Why would we ever, in our right minds, stigmatize such a word?

There’s really only one answer to that: Insecurity. It is only an insecure professional, straddling both worlds, woefully uncertain of his or her standing, who would ever stoop to denigrating amateur musicians as a class.

And that is their key point of separation: Professionals must seek a sustainably profitable return on their investment. If they consistently lose money, then they are failing at their jobs.

Amateurs on the other hand, if and when they “lose” money, are not failures at all. Are you “losing” money when you go rock climbing, take in a movie, paint someone a picture, run a marathon, or join a community theater? Allow me to be the first to say hell no.

Whether they do it consciously or not, amateurs effectively take their cash and use it to say: “This is valuable. This is important. I want there to be more of it in the world. I want to support this. Just being around it is its own reward. And I’m willing to pay more for what I think is the most worthwhile.”

i think he overestimates "the value of professional musicians," but he ends on a sensible note. and the frusciante quotes were good.

it's meaningless. who cares? if you're a musician, you're a musician.

may as well say "how to tell if you're an amateur terrorist".

agreed, but that would be a pretty good article imo