IGNORED

Skrillex Cover Story + Interview in Complex Magazine

chim

Hate him or love him, aside from the abysmal layout this interview was pretty comprehensive.

http://www.complex.com/covers/skrillex-interview-alien-nation-2014-cover-story/

Some TLDR tidbits:

"With Skrillex, before I got into synthesis, I was sampling a lot and taking pieces and remixing"

"I never meant to make Top 40 records; that wasn’t my goal for Recess. I’m still learning who I am as an artist, and I’m not trying to force anything. People don’t understand why I got so huge, so all they can do is hate on it and put me in a category."

"People don’t realize how simple it is. It’s all about doing you and going back to the core of why you like making music. I’ve always made music for that kid in me."

"You’re being critical of something and someone else so much because you have your own insecurities. That’s the essence of it."

"I worked on some sound design for Transformers: Age of Extinction. Moody Good and I made full-on bass, dinosaur-robots-killing-each-other sounds."

"The hardest thing to do as an artist when all this other shit is happening is getting into that zone where you’re almost bored, which is the best thing to do. [...] That's when the best stuff comes out."

It's impossible for me to ever take him seriously, after seeing his emo aphex throwdowns on youtube.

And listening to his music.

It's impossible for me to ever take him seriously, after seeing his emo aphex throwdowns on youtube.

i have nothing against the guy but i also have to agree with you

i have nothing against the guy but i also have to agree with you

Seconded

sounds like hes taking the brony stance of wallowing in his victimhood

not that he cares, but to me he'd be more respectable if he just said 'i don't care, next question' when any interview mentioned the topic of skrill haters, and left it at that