Jump to content

Recommended Posts





It will be the Hyperdub founders third album in total, following collaborations with The Spaceape (2006s Memories of the Future and 2012s Black Sun). A long-term collaborator with Kode9, Spaceape died in 2014 after a battle with cancer.


Nothing, were told, is obsessed with zeros, throwing horror soundtracks, sampled library records, and j-pop into a no mans land between grime, early dubstep and Chicago footwork. Its mostly instrumental, but Spaceapes vocals are present on Third Ear Transmission. Void was originally intended for Spaceapes vocals, while Nothing Lasts Forever closes the album with a nine minute silence.


Kode9 will tour a live audio-visual set in 2016, collaborating with simulation artist Lawrence Lek. The set revolves around an evacuated, fully automated, luxury hotel known as The Notel, whose corporate logo features on the albums cover.


The project explores a post-scarcity world in which the only thing in short supply is humans. The performance guides the audience on a first-person tour through the uncanny architecture of the Nøtel. In sprawling chambers deep within slick glass corridors, they encounter warped spaces, quantum clouds, gravitational pools, dancing voids and holograms of the dead.



1. Zero Point Energy

2. Notel

3. Void

4. Holo

5. Third Ear Transmission feat. The Spaceape

6. Zero Work

7. Vacuum Packed

8. Wu Wei

9. Casimir Effect

10. Respirator

11. Mirage

12. Drones

13. Nothing Lasts Forever

Edited by kaini
Link to post
Share on other sites

Listened to MotF and Black Sun quite a bit three years ago, as well as that Xingfu Lu/ Kan single last year. Chances are good I'll add Nothing to my collection as well.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Similar Content

    • By Ivan Ooze
      Loraine james just dropped a fantastic new ep, highly recommanded and one of my fav producers of this moment
      check it out!
    • By Allize
      Nazar announces debut EP Enclave, out this November on Hyperdub
      Nazar’s musical world centres around the extreme violence, injustice and omnipresence of a repressive state during and after the 27-year Angolan civil war, simultaneously exploring hope, resilience and pride in a country torn apart by conflict.

    • By Culture
      New Burial is here. And this time its not gay!
    • By cear
      Hyperdub - HDBCD037
      releases September 15, 2017
      01. Insta Centre
      02. Istian
      03. East Sedducke
      04. 23 Bay Flips
      05. Swerva
      06. Quadripoints
      07. You Hedonic
      08. UE8
      09. Locked In
      10. Ignition Lockoff
      11. A tergo Real
      12. Ghost
      13. Déjà Mode
      Snippets + visuals http://mnesticpressure.leegamble.net/


    • By beNito
      Just got the email notification, 
      released on vinyl on May 26th, two tracks 
  • Create New...