IGNORED

Anyone have any insight into how Avril 14th was recorded?

Brisbot

So I have periodic access to a disklavier which I record piano stuff on, and recently this past week recorded a few of my piano tunes.

Usually I go for miking it further away and utilizing the background noise, the normal way piano is recorded...i think ( i am no miking expert and require the help of a friend to do it right). But Avril 14th has inspired me to instead mic it to where the actual acoustics of the keys moving, acting as a kind of percussive background. So I tried that and no matter which way I did it, I heard the playing more vs the soft sound of the moving key parts playing through the piano.

I recorded it many different ways and only got one way that I liked, but it wasn't what I was going for.

The way avril is recorded, it's almost as if the strings were removed, and only the sound of the moving keys were recorded by their selves, and then compressed or raised in volume. I can get that sound a little bit but it's very quiet compared to the actual song, but he has it panned differently. Thus it sounds like two different recordings playing the same song. Even if he didn't I'm pretty sure I could accomplish this result that way. That said there is a 0 percent chance of me doing this as I didn't shell out 1000s of $$$ for the disklavier.

Just wondering if he ever talked about this in an interview, or if anyone has managed to get a similar recording by themselves.

Yeah I'm going to be uploading the one that came out right in a few days. I'ma make another topic about it in the YLC, but I'll message you when I'm done.

I'm pretty damn happy with it.

The other two piano songs I did need another recording though.