IGNORED

People that listen to "challenging" music

Auditor

• Replies 166
  • Created
  • Last Reply

plebs gonna pleb

But seriously I think this issue has a lot in common with the age-old "nature vs. nurtue" debate. How much of musical taste and tolerance is part of your brain chemistry and how much is influenced by external stimuli when as you evolve / grow up? I'm not really sure there can be a definitive answer.

I tend to distance myself from the third category you mention, if for no other reason that music/audio is such an integral part of my existence that why wouldn't I try to associate more with like-minded folks? So I'm not an expert on their thought process. But I think that exposure to certain environments and certain people can definitely affect how one forms opinions and curiosities.

Also some pop music is legit too (Robyn!), coming from the guy currently listening to Khemmis after listening to the new LCD Soundsystem, so what the fuck do I know. People like what they like.

ONLY TWO

THREE AT A PUSH

plebs gonna pleb

But seriously I think this issue has a lot in common with the age-old "nature vs. nurtue" debate. How much of musical taste and tolerance is part of your brain chemistry and how much is influenced by external stimuli when as you evolve / grow up? I'm not really sure there can be a definitive answer.

I tend to distance myself from the third category you mention, if for no other reason that music/audio is such an integral part of my existence that why wouldn't I try to associate more with like-minded folks? So I'm not an expert on their thought process. But I think that exposure to certain environments and certain people can definitely affect how one forms opinions and curiosities.

Also some pop music is legit too (Robyn!), coming from the guy currently listening to Khemmis after listening to the new LCD Soundsystem, so what the fuck do I know. People like what they like.