IGNORED

Can you help me understand Korg DS-10/MS-10 synth sound design?

Polytrix

Hey.

So I've been playing around with the Korg DS-10 Synthesizer (a Korg DS game cartridge which seems to be a simplified MS-10 emulation). It's pretty good!

Anyway, I've got it going into my interface and I intend to design some synth sounds which I'll re-sample and use in more flexible ways in Ableton. I.e polyphonic and using midi controllers. I can get some pretty decent tones from it and the sound is nice and crusty and lofi.

I'm relatively new to synthesis really but understand the basics.

Either way though I have a few questions about the images below:

1) On the synth edit window, so the second image here, how would you explain what EG INT under the pitch section does?

Also, how would you explain what EG INT does under the VCF section (this confuses me as I think it's a filter envelope control but there is no way to actually set that envelope independently I think as the only ADSR I can see is on the far right section and I think that's purely for amplitude control ?

Additionally, what is the function of using VCO Sync practically in sound design terms?

How would you explain to a layperson the difference between EG/GATE on the VCA EG switch thing?

Korg+DS-10+Plus+main+screen+and+synth+ed

2)  Can someone try and simply explain all this to me!? 

I think it's basically 4 types of LFO waveform controlled by the FREQ knob on the far left which can then be patched to PITCH IN/VCO 1 PITCH IN/VCO2 PITCH IN/CUTOFF IN/VCA IN - with each of those patches flowing in different ways through the VCOs - VCF - VCA - MIXER. I get that much.

What are the practical ways of using this though? I've done loads of experimenting and I don't really feel as though I know what I'm doing.

What does the EG output do in this sense (where is that coming from?!).

The online tutorials are quite limited and I thought you lot would be a lot more well informed.