Jump to content


Join WATMM Now!

Register and Subscribe now for as little 3.00 USD for one year to gain Supporting Member access. We also have other subscription packages to choose from that grant you extra abilities and features.

A subscription is required in order to post, reply to posts, start topics, search, and other features.

By joining and subscribing, you are helping support the forums, as well enable us to add new features and enhancements (and maintain them).

Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

To sign up for a subscription package, click your user name in the upper right, and choose "Client Area". Then, choose a package that suits your needs.

This message will be removed once you have signed in.


Digitone
official thread

elektron digitone FM

  • Please log in to reply
132 replies to this topic

#1 modey

modey

    the struggle vose in

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,705 posts
  • 255 topics
  • Joined 08-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:⠃⠋⠛⠀⠼⠊⠚⠚⠚
  • Country:Australia

Posted 09 March 2018 - 04:10 PM

I figured I should start a proper thread rather than continuing to spam the GAS thread.. especially since the 1.02 OS just got released.

 

 

I'll start with a couple of good tutorial videos I found:

 

 



#2 Braintree

Braintree

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,009 posts
  • 132 topics
  • Joined 21-July 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, Neptune, United States of SPACE
  • Country:Not Selected

Posted 09 March 2018 - 04:23 PM

Haven't done anything with it beyond this little clip:

 

https://www.instagra...en-by=treebrain

 

Currently spending time finishing up an (elaborately detailed) EP, but really excited to sit down with it soon. Hopefully.

 

House and techno is a dime a dozen around here, so I think it would be fun to play out a techno set with nothing but a Digitone.



#3 modey

modey

    the struggle vose in

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,705 posts
  • 255 topics
  • Joined 08-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:⠃⠋⠛⠀⠼⠊⠚⠚⠚
  • Country:Australia

Posted 12 March 2018 - 08:56 PM

damnit Cenk

 



#4 modey

modey

    the struggle vose in

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,705 posts
  • 255 topics
  • Joined 08-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:⠃⠋⠛⠀⠼⠊⠚⠚⠚
  • Country:Australia

Posted 21 March 2018 - 06:40 AM

46 minutes of meditative ambience recorded in the front garden of my house. Bonus dog footage!

 



#5 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2018 - 05:34 AM

anyone having issues outputting midi? neither my yarns or ableton recieves a jot of midi from the digitone, im at my wits end. there are no menu options settings left to try. 

 

my settings, as per the menu, 

 

port config

 

- out port function - MIDI

thru port func - MIDI

input from - midi

output to - midi

 

output ch - auto ch

param output - cc

encoder dest - int

trig key dest - in

mute dest - int

recieve notes - off

recieve cc/nprn - off.

 

 

ive tried running into all different channel outputs with a few different cables that i know are working. anything i might have missed?



#6 auxien

auxien

    just one thing i wanna know

  • EKT Plus
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,850 posts
  • 82 topics
  • Joined 09-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 22 March 2018 - 05:56 AM

You're connected via a MIDI cable, not USB, right?

If so then it might be in having the trigs/mutes/etc set to INT. I think it needs to be INT+EXT. I don't actually have a Digitone so I can't test but I know the Elektron menu decent enough that I thought it worth mentioning.

Edited by auxien, 22 March 2018 - 05:56 AM.


#7 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2018 - 06:13 AM

no joy with that im afraid. 



#8 auxien

auxien

    just one thing i wanna know

  • EKT Plus
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,850 posts
  • 82 topics
  • Joined 09-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United States

Posted 22 March 2018 - 06:21 AM

I dunno then :/ will be curious to hear what it is when you figure it out.

#9 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2018 - 06:24 AM

honestly i think its broken. there is absolutely nothing left to try. everything seems to be working from in the box, but there is no midi output on any channel. its no biggie though, i can go into town later and swap it back with Rubadub. this is the reason i buy most of my stuff brand new. 



#10 modey

modey

    the struggle vose in

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,705 posts
  • 255 topics
  • Joined 08-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:⠃⠋⠛⠀⠼⠊⠚⠚⠚
  • Country:Australia

Posted 22 March 2018 - 06:29 AM

Just saw your thread on elektronauts. You need to hold FUNC and push the encoders for channel select etc in order for the MIDI tracks to send notes, I think.

#11 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2018 - 06:32 AM

hmm, really? the manual says just press MIDI then T1, and it says at the side that you are editing MID1 in a box. function + encoders does nothing for me. 


if you mean FUNC + the track buttons (T1) , ive tried that. 



#12 modey

modey

    the struggle vose in

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,705 posts
  • 255 topics
  • Joined 08-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:⠃⠋⠛⠀⠼⠊⠚⠚⠚
  • Country:Australia

Posted 22 March 2018 - 06:44 AM

No, I meant function + encoder for channel select etc. You need to press the encoder for it to change from an X to the parameter (e.g. to select output channel). At least that's the way it works on the OT. I haven't tried on the DN yet.

Apologies if that's what you've done, but it still fucks with me to this day.

Edited by modey, 22 March 2018 - 06:45 AM.


#13 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2018 - 06:46 AM

function + encoder seems to have no effect.



#14 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2018 - 08:52 AM

[soundcloud] Listen on Soundcloud.com[/soundcloud]

 

another little jam, this time using only digitone sounds + modular as an FX send. 

 

really pining to have this thing pinging off all my modules as it plays, really frustrating not having midi out working. 



#15 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2018 - 09:07 AM

aha! got it. you were right modey, but i was in the wrong parameter tab. sorted. 



#16 modey

modey

    the struggle vose in

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,705 posts
  • 255 topics
  • Joined 08-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:⠃⠋⠛⠀⠼⠊⠚⠚⠚
  • Country:Australia

Posted 22 March 2018 - 02:40 PM

Excellent! Sorry, was a bit vague.. was away from my DN and couldn't quite remember it with enough detail.

#17 thawkins

thawkins

    icelandic musician Lolur Momfat

  • Members Plus
  • PipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • 18 topics
  • Joined 20-June 16
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Tokyo
  • SoundCloud URL:https://soundcloud.com/trent-hawkins
  • Country:Japan

Posted 23 March 2018 - 12:08 AM

46 minutes of meditative ambience recorded in the front garden of my house. Bonus dog footage!

 

 

Nice jam, thanks! Luckily I only listened to the audio otherwise I would have some GAS.



#18 xox

xox

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,585 posts
  • 6 topics
  • Joined 08-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Croatia

Posted 23 March 2018 - 04:07 AM

That was beautiful, modey! Fenx

#19 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 23 March 2018 - 05:00 PM

Listen on Soundcloud.com

 

 

outsider house track



#20 sun drugs

sun drugs

    Recently Joined

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 354 posts
  • 7 topics
  • Joined 04-July 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sun
  • Country:Not Selected

Posted 29 March 2018 - 06:12 AM

How you guys with these finding it?  Any issues or limitations that are getting to you? 

Thinking about getting one to compliment my op-1 or sell the OP1 for it as I mainly use the op for the fm synth but its far too limited synthesis wise, its just got other features that i really love and its great for sound design. I think they would compliment each other in the studio nice.

 
Hows it go for Gábor Lázár / Rian Treanor Mark fell-y kinda sound design?   Wanting to modulate the FM parameters with envelopes and to have certain parameters constantly evolve which im sure i can do with lfos, p-locks and the new seq randomiser thingo. 

Can you get synth sounds like EP this with relative ease? 

 

I have a old and broken monomachine which im pissed broke but looks like itll be a great replacement for very modern hifi fm and synth stuff. 

Is it the sound design beast its being sold to be? 
I gotta test one out



#21 telefunken

telefunken

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLicglO2NNo

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,042 posts
  • 35 topics
  • Joined 23-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-P
  • SoundCloud URL:https://soundcloud.com/kuzmapalkin
  • Interests:Sound, graphics and alkaloids
  • Country:Russia

Posted 29 March 2018 - 07:46 AM

iirc Mark Fell did some stock presets for Digitone. It was mentioned on elektron site.

 

Ii don't have Digitone though i read on elektronauts it has some ratio detents/quantisations for instant musicality so it can spook off some FM nerds like Dave Noyze



#22 modey

modey

    the struggle vose in

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,705 posts
  • 255 topics
  • Joined 08-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:⠃⠋⠛⠀⠼⠊⠚⠚⠚
  • Country:Australia

Posted 29 March 2018 - 04:40 PM

It's beautiful. I've been mainly concentrating on sound design lately, it's very easy to come up with good sounds. I'm having a lot of fun making super expressive ambient sounds that are nice to play with a keyboard.

Yeah, the ratios are quantised to the most musical divisions, but there's also a detune setting which allows the operators to get out of that quantisation. I hadn't heard that EP before but it sounds like it'd be pretty easy to get that kind of sound design. I find it's useful to run it through an oscilloscope if you want to get precise, especially if you want square/saw waves beyond what can be produced by the harmonics setting.

It's a lot more hifi than the monomachine. It can still get into dirty territory though, especially with the per-sound and global overdrives.

Get one :P

#23 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 30 March 2018 - 03:06 PM

Listen on Soundcloud.com

 

 

stomping techno. all from digitone running through a distortion unit + 1176 warm audio compressor. 

 

 

this thing is crazy good. 



#24 messiaen

messiaen

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,323 posts
  • 221 topics
  • Joined 26-April 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 03 April 2018 - 12:10 AM

i picked up the digitakt in a fire sale at rubadub, really loving this combo. the machinedrum left me cold on elektron for years, happy i gave them a shot again. 



#25 modey

modey

    the struggle vose in

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,705 posts
  • 255 topics
  • Joined 08-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Interests:⠃⠋⠛⠀⠼⠊⠚⠚⠚
  • Country:Australia

Posted 03 April 2018 - 06:12 AM

Yeah I'm somewhat tempted to get the digitakt as well, just for more instant sample mangling than on the octatrack.. maybe I'll see what the future updates do in terms of new functionality..





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: elektron, digitone, FM