Jump to content

The Future Sound of London - Archived 9

Recommended Posts

CD tracklist:

1. Ocea
2. Semi Conscious Participant
3. Silent Midnight
4. Halfer
5. Embodied
6. Super Tide
7. Without You It's Meaningless
8. Oska Traveller
9. Slow Moving World
10. Propagate
11. Photographs Of An Object
12. A Constantly Changing Mind
13. Confirmation Bias
14. These Days
15. Riverbed
16. Extruded
17. Views Of A Empty Sky


LP tracklist:

A1: Ocea (6.38)
A2: Semi Conscious Participant (2.27)
A3: Silent Midnight (4.12)
A4: Halfer (4.34)
A5: Embodied (3.47)
A6: Super Tide (3.22)
B1: These Days (4.31)
B2: Slow Moving World (1.53)
B3: Propagate (3.41)
B4: Without You Its Meaningless (5.15)
B5: Light (3.05)
B6: Extruded (3.29)
B7: Views Of An Empty Sky (3.32)
B8: Plenary (1.24)

CD exclusives:
'Oska Traveller'
'Photographs of an Object'
'A Constantly Changing Mind'
'Confirmation Bias'


LP exclusives:


Various sites have release date listed as 29th September, 5th October and 19th October so far.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 3 weeks later...

When will we see on FSOLdigital?

Hopefully this week.


Wooooooo! I <3 FSOL! Haven't been keeping track of other archival releases, would y'all recommend all of them? Some? Which are the best?

The first four archives are quite patchy - lots of good tracks, but some very obvious 'outtake'-like tracks, and they're all cut up without linking sections so don't flow so well. Worth a listen, but the later ones are better. I think 7 is probably regarded as the best... other than a very Dead Cities-era track, none of it's easy to pin down to a particular era and it could just about pass for a completely new album. 5 is very Dead Cities in tone, 8 is quite a skeletal, heavily electronic record that doesn't really sound like anything else in their catalogue. The first half of 6 is particularly excellent.

Link to post
Share on other sites

They reissued the first 3 volumes I believe with continuous mixes on CD.

They've only been made available digitally so far - don't think there are any plans to release the 'enhanced' versions on CD.


http://www.fsoldigital.com/product/archived-9/ Archived 9 is up for pre-order now, with copies shipping on Saturday for an official release date on Monday. Just ordered the CD and can confirm it comes with a download of the vinyl-only bonus tracks.

Link to post
Share on other sites



i liked 6.5

6 + 6.5 was the peak for me, but most of the later ones have been very solid.
They mean Environments, not the Archives series.

Bah you’re right. My mistake

Link to post
Share on other sites

^^^ Having only heard 6 and 6.5, I can confirm.


Highly recommended!


Thanks for the tip, Extralife!


I initially passed those Environments albums, but I'm really digging those. I'm still working through the buttload of archives/environments, but the standout tracks that have passed by coincidently were from those 6 and 6.5 environments! Great stuff. :)

Edited by goDel
Link to post
Share on other sites

First listen: Archived 9 is quite the treat.  Much more focused and IDMish than some of their more soundcapey stuff.  I kinda love that I can't really tell the difference between the new tracks and the older ones.  Really flows nicely as an album here.  The Archives keep getting better and better somehow...

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Similar Content

    • By Detuned
      2020 Update:
      Bleep.com X De:tuned Advent: Day 8   https://bleep.com/advent-2020-day-8 For the day 8 of the Bleep Advent 2020, they have a bundle offer from De:tuned including a limited edition slip mat and custom UDG Gear Ultimate Courier Bag - both featuring artwork from Kevin Foakes aka DJ Food. Final part to complete your '10 Years De:tuned' set. Thanks for the support!

      Bleep is celebrating the run-up to Christmas 2019 with a daily limited offer featuring De:Tuned, LuckyMe, Warp, Ninja Tune and more.
      For the first day of the Bleep Advent 2019, they have a bundle offer from De:tuned including an exclusive silver vinyl pressing of DE:10:10, an A2 print and tote bag shipping now.
      ASGDE030LTD + Tote Bag + A2 Print + Bleep Tote

      Vinyl, EP
      Exclusive silver vinyl
      Limited to 300 copies Solid silver 180g vinyl Silver foil sleeve Mastered by Matt Colton at Metropolis Artwork by Kevin Foakes (DJ Food) Features Lone, Plaid, Steven Rutter, Erik Van Den Broek and Humanoid https://bleep.com/release/158068-various-artists-de1010

      De:tuned Print
      Limited to 100
      Bleep exclusive
      Screentec Aquatex Acrylic Process Colours (Cyan, Magenta, Yellow & Black) & Lascaux Aluminium Silver Acrylic
      Heritage White 315gsm Archival Paper
      Artwork by Kevin Foakes (DJ Food)
      Printed by Jonas Ranson at Blacklist Editions London

      De:tuned Tote Bag
      Limited to 100
      Bleep exclusive Artwork by Kevin Foakes (DJ Food)


    • By zazen
      So I'm sure a lot of you know this one but this was the BEST mix of Humanoid. And this video just works so I had to post it.
      And you probably all know that this was Future Sound of London, or half of them, or something.
    • By Rubin Farr
      July 8, 2020

    • By Rubin Farr
      has a very 1970s, exploitation vibe.
        1. The Wasp
      2. The Bug
      3. Banksters
      4. Regrets and Last Respects
      5. The Chase
      6. Hide and Speak
      7. Loaded Silence (Part 1)
      8. The Plaza Heist
      9. Eyes and Ears to the Ground
      10. The First Billion is the Hardest
      11. Where Does the Evil Go When Evil Men Die?
      12. Radio Breakdown
      13. Taken Delivery
      14. The Harry Limescale Theme
      15. Down The Memory Hole
      16. The Rat
      17. Never Trust a Grass

      Raven Bush - Violin
      Peter Judge - Trumpet
      Virgil Howe - Drums
      Anthony Argiros - Guitar
      Nat Steele - Vibraphone
      John Dalton - Harp
      Rainy Moor - Hammond
      John Dalton (again?) - Saxophone and Flute
      Kez Gunes - Bass    
    • By purlieu
      01 – KAAGE (05:15)
      02 – Static Objective (04:07)
      03 – Aennuiosk (04:44)
      04 – Event Null (04:29)
      05 – Void Over (03:10)
      06 – LoadedMethod (03:44)
      It's a lot less acid than other Humanoid stuff, much more IDM. Really good stuff. Digital is 50% off as part of the FSOLDigital sale. Rumours of a 12" to follow at some point.
  • Create New...