Jump to content

The Future Sound of London - Archived 9

Rubin Farr

Recommended Posts

CD tracklist:

1. Ocea
2. Semi Conscious Participant
3. Silent Midnight
4. Halfer
5. Embodied
6. Super Tide
7. Without You It's Meaningless
8. Oska Traveller
9. Slow Moving World
10. Propagate
11. Photographs Of An Object
12. A Constantly Changing Mind
13. Confirmation Bias
14. These Days
15. Riverbed
16. Extruded
17. Views Of A Empty Sky


LP tracklist:

A1: Ocea (6.38)
A2: Semi Conscious Participant (2.27)
A3: Silent Midnight (4.12)
A4: Halfer (4.34)
A5: Embodied (3.47)
A6: Super Tide (3.22)
B1: These Days (4.31)
B2: Slow Moving World (1.53)
B3: Propagate (3.41)
B4: Without You Its Meaningless (5.15)
B5: Light (3.05)
B6: Extruded (3.29)
B7: Views Of An Empty Sky (3.32)
B8: Plenary (1.24)

CD exclusives:
'Oska Traveller'
'Photographs of an Object'
'A Constantly Changing Mind'
'Confirmation Bias'


LP exclusives:


Various sites have release date listed as 29th September, 5th October and 19th October so far.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

When will we see on FSOLdigital?

Hopefully this week.


Wooooooo! I <3 FSOL! Haven't been keeping track of other archival releases, would y'all recommend all of them? Some? Which are the best?

The first four archives are quite patchy - lots of good tracks, but some very obvious 'outtake'-like tracks, and they're all cut up without linking sections so don't flow so well. Worth a listen, but the later ones are better. I think 7 is probably regarded as the best... other than a very Dead Cities-era track, none of it's easy to pin down to a particular era and it could just about pass for a completely new album. 5 is very Dead Cities in tone, 8 is quite a skeletal, heavily electronic record that doesn't really sound like anything else in their catalogue. The first half of 6 is particularly excellent.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

They reissued the first 3 volumes I believe with continuous mixes on CD.

They've only been made available digitally so far - don't think there are any plans to release the 'enhanced' versions on CD.


http://www.fsoldigital.com/product/archived-9/ Archived 9 is up for pre-order now, with copies shipping on Saturday for an official release date on Monday. Just ordered the CD and can confirm it comes with a download of the vinyl-only bonus tracks.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

^^^ Having only heard 6 and 6.5, I can confirm.


Highly recommended!


Thanks for the tip, Extralife!


I initially passed those Environments albums, but I'm really digging those. I'm still working through the buttload of archives/environments, but the standout tracks that have passed by coincidently were from those 6 and 6.5 environments! Great stuff. :)

Edited by goDel
Link to comment
Share on other sites

First listen: Archived 9 is quite the treat.  Much more focused and IDMish than some of their more soundcapey stuff.  I kinda love that I can't really tell the difference between the new tracks and the older ones.  Really flows nicely as an album here.  The Archives keep getting better and better somehow...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Similar Content

    • By ignatius
      out in december

    • By dcom
      Digital only. Currently only Orfan Atmosphere txk available, but it's rather different from the album version - better, I think.
    • By purlieu
      A1. "Truc"
      A2. "Last Seen"
      B1. "Pyramid 17"
      B2. "Swerver"
      B3. "Osculated"
      C1. "Hed Set"
      D1. "Seen Last"
      180g 12" + 10".
      Limited pink marbled 12" + 10". 
      No CD.

      Clips on Juno
    • By purlieu
      Every time there's a new release there's normally a fair bit of discussion in the relevant thread, so I thought it was about time to start a general FSOL thread. Also, I just started a new blog called Fractional Difference, in which I'll be going through every release and song, in order, and looking at various things... all the facts, connections with other tracks, and my own personal feelings about them. It's going to take forever (they released 180 tracks on the launch of FSOLDigital alone), but I'm quite looking forward to revisiting the whole catalogue over the next however long it takes.
      So far I've done an About page which explains my discovery of the band and running the various fan sites I have over the years, a discography page which I'll fill in with links as the project goes along, and I've done a couple of entries, for Bacteria From a Baboon's Stomach and the original release of Stakker Humanoid.
      Hopefully will be getting a few stories, bits of trivia and pics from Brian over the course of it to spice it all up.
      Anyway, the blog is here if anybody fancies following: https://fractionaldifference.wordpress.com/
      And, in terms of general discussion, this is still my all-time favourite piece of music:
      Weird that it hasn't changed for nearly 25 years.
  • Create New...