IGNORED

Anyone use Reaper?

JakeMandell

Hi Everyone,

I've been using Logic for well over 20 years, but bounced around between various DAWs once they stopped making the PC version ages ago.

I've been using Reaper for the past three years or so and I really like it. I could never get comfortable with Ableton - despite it being excellent software. Main thing for me was lack of customization for key commands.

Anyway, Reaper has so many advantages for electronic music production, especially those requiring flexibility in routing or microedits: Excellent bounce in place functionality, ability to have effect chains on a per EVENT (rather than per track) basis, sample-edit editing in the arrange window, plus about a million more things. 

I suppose some downsides could be the relatively "primitive" GUI and simple built-in effects.

If anyone is curious, here's a DAW runthrough of a recent track in Reaper.

Anyone else using it? Happy to hear all your tips and tricks...

Thanks for listening,

Jake

I started using it a few years ago instead of Pro tools for the occasional bit of editing I do on the side at home, mostly dialogue and fx for radio and installations and whatnot. It is a superb multitrack editor, maybe the best. The main issue I have is that there are too many customizables and options which slows down the learning process. Because i don't use it every day I have to refresh my memory with it a lot. There are resources out there for people coming from Pro tools to achieve a similar workflow and change keyboard shortcuts etc. 

David Farmer from Skywalker Sound did some nice tutorials for it 

http://designingsound.org/2016/07/25/reaper-tutorial-series-an-interview-with-david-farmer/