IGNORED

Scientist proposes "super plants" to curb climate change

ambermonk

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/apr/16/super-plants-climate-change-joanne-chory-carbon-dioxide?utm_source=pocket-newtab

We all ready know that climate change is the elephant in the room. And I'm no scientist, but Dr. Chory's idea here of genetically modifying plants in order to improve their natural ability at absorbing CO2 from the atmosphere has huge potential I think. Here's her take on her Ideal Plant project:

“We’re trying to do something that’s a huge, complicated thing even though it sounds so simple,” Chory says. “Plants evolved to suck up CO2 and they’re really good at it. And they concentrate it, which no machine can do, and they make it into useful materials, like sugar. They suck up all the CO2, they fix it, then it goes back up into the atmosphere.”

Obviously it's a bit of a wild card though. Plus it would technically be a GMO, which could pose a potential legal and PR hurdle. But desperate times call for desperate measures and all that.

Whether this is worth starting a topic about, I don't know. It might sink to Page 2 of GenBan within the next 24 hours. But I felt that it seemed intriguing and important enough to warrant discussion.

they'd just get cut down to make room for palm tree farms to get more palm oil.

the "science fx it" angle of combating climate change is interesting. it'll take some crazy ideas to slow things down. i don't think anything we do now will keep coastal areas from being flooded in 10-20 years. 

here's an entertaining read on miami. good read on some of the people there and the mindset of some. kind of fascinating. 

https://popula.com/2019/04/02/heaven-or-high-water/

anyway... i like her idea but there's always those dang unintended consequences.  but what could be worse? total climate collapse or some GMO plants running wild? 

lol

Ed Wood = classic