IGNORED

Microtonal tuning / Midi :(

Jed

Noob question, or not, regardless I'm still a Novice knob twiddler aspiring to become a Journeyman knob twiddler.

I've always seemed to gravitate towards music that doesn't necessarily use 12 tone equal temperament and am discovering the limitations of attempting to write music that isn't 12 tone equal temperament with Midi. This has become even more evident with the purchase of an Analog synth last week. Using the synth, by itself, I have created some sequences and tuning that I'd love to be able to drive from Ableton so that I can either send additional notes to the oscillators on top of whatever it might be playing, or control it directly from the DAW. Many of the sequenced notes fall somewhere between the 12-ET scale so anything coming from Midi is just out of tune w/ how the hardware is tuned. I was wondering if anyone had any creative solutions. I've been brainstorming a bit, but I didn't want to commit to one without a little more research. So far the best ideas to have bubbled to the top are to create 2 (or more) seperate midi input sources but to insert CC pitch bend data, or start mucking around w/ Scala (which is probably just generating the aforementioned modulations to the midi data to achieve the same effect). I'll have to deep dive into the Midi spec to get a better picture of what's going on w/ the device interface. Ideas are greatly appreciated.

There used to be a standalone program that would do the pitch bend deal you're describing, but I can't remember what it was called.  It was already really old when I saw it, Windows 95 or something. Also, unless you have an MPE instrument or use multiple channels on a multitimbral instrumentand split your notes out across them (basically what MPE does), pitch bend will only work monophonically because it's global per channel.