IGNORED

max/msp or reaktor

Guest bowen

Guest bowen

intrested in opinions of those who have used both.

i've been learning max for 3 years

i know reaktor is probably far simpler as objects are pre-assembled at a higher level

but i'd be interested in peoples thoughts.

reaktor sucks is teh suck, synthedit is better

max/msp, don't know, I'm learning puredata though which is very similiar (some max/msp patches can even be loaded into pd), and so far, it's much more powerful than synthedit, more difficult though.

Guest grasshoppa

reaktor because its creamy

very creamy

max is creamyish but not as...

but perhaps when reaktors fun has ended..... naaaaaa

I've used Reaktor for 2 years with a detour into Max for a couple of months.

Max is a much richer programming environment - I wish NI would incorporate some kind of written scripting language. Reaktor's more like circuit design than programming. Though you can do some very sophisticated things once you understand its quirks - generative music thingies, weird unique sequencers, and like that. learning Max helped a lot, as the Reaktor documentation is tutorial-starved.

Reaktor has vastly superior sound quality, to my ears - Max/MSP has always been good at scratchy scrabbly glitchy things, which Reaktor can do too, but it can also create rich analog-ish tones and shimmering pads. It excels at granular synthesis too. I hate the sound of the basic MSP sawtooth oscillators.

Something that's fun is routing midi from Max to Reaktor through a utility like midi yoke, so you have the best of both worlds.

That should read:

Max/MSP has always been good at scratchy scrabbly glitchy things, which Reaktor can do too, but Reaktor can also create rich analog-ish tones and shimmering pads. It excels at granular synthesis too. I hate the sound of the basic MSP sawtooth oscillators.

Guest Iain C

Downloaded the trial of Max the other day to try and load these autechre patches everyone's going on about.