IGNORED

DRUM MACHINES... I just want a good one

Guest meneedit

Guest meneedit

I have come to the conclusion that I am not going to get anywhere until I buy myself a drum machine.

It's just not possible to make good beats without one

Regardless of how much you can do with sound you cannot polish a turd.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ages ago on this website I asked you guys which was the best drum machine to get for electronic drums. Anyway, somebody on this site did me a huge favour and gave me samples of his drumkit so that I could decide whether I wanted to buy that particular drum machine or not.

I was ready to buy it until at the last second I thought hang on what am I doing! I need one with electronic drum sounds.

The other thing that annoys me is the fact that I have been making drum beats with shitty samples for many years and I still know nothing about drums...

...I know what a kick, hihat and snare are, but I don't know the difference between a splash and a crash. I know that a crash is supposed to be used to start a new section or to make an impact when the beat starts up again but I dont know when a splash is supposed to be used.

Probably the thing that pisses me off the most is the fact that out off all the samples that I have (lots and lots), I only have one or two long hihat sounds. the rest are short which is no good considering I want all my songs to be different. Just listen to the beat right at the start of "Ulrich Schnauss - Nobody's Home". That is an open hihat without that awful mid range sound. Now, surely Ulrich would have a decent electronic drum machine.

Its kind of stupid how there are no sites that give demos on drum machines as well. How can we be expected to know what sort of sounds it has if there are no demos, ffs!!!!!!!