IGNORED

acid pro 5.0

so ... i've been getting around to making a second frenetic electronic music mix thing, but i'm determined to have it be properly mixed this time, like an actual high-quality sort of deal. per someone's suggestion in the original thread for the first mix, i hunted down sony ACID pro 5.0, and i've been trying to get the hang of it, though i'm having a bit of trouble, is the thing; the help menus aren't very helpful ... and keep in mind that i have ZERO experience whatsoever in creating/mixing/editing music, and i'm not so great with complicated software, either ...

ergo, this thread, wherein various wattem people with years of experience, academic and otherwise, in electronic music production/mixing/editing (and with experience using ACID pro, i would assume), would be able to give a bunch of tips and advice on crossfading and mixing and mastering, etc etc.

(sorry if this is in the neighborhood of a certain jazz band ... it's possible that learning how to use ACID pro is like the first thing that n00bs do, or something)

Guest disco_epilepsy

i use acid for post-mixdown stutters and things

NOTHING ELSE

incidentally it was my first ever music program, i used loops and things, luckily i'm past that

Guest Cyanescens

yeah unfortunately sonys got bunk acid. you could try fruity loops, cubase or reason.

im not sure if you are trying to mix or produce. for mixing live 5 is the best thing you could have. or maybe NI Traktor.

Guest oldcorehardschool

Acid is awesome at what it does, fellows. Sure, you can look at it as some kinda intro tool to using loops and making repetative loopy songs from someone else's loops, or you could look a little deeper and think how you could use what it has to your advantage. Your question is about making a mix so: what does a DJ use to make a mix? Two players and a mixer. Maybe a mixer with effects if we're gonna be real fancy. Acid has all of this.