IGNORED

Using harware in Cubase 5

I've recently purchased a few rack synths to twiddle, I've a copy of Cubase 5 and I'm new to both. I have them set up as external instruments and I can sequence them via midi channel in the DAW, but I can't attach FX to that channel. I can assign an audio channel to record the signal, but I can't hear it and the FX until after it has been recorded. Is there a way for me to route the signal from the synth directly to an audio channel so I can hear the audio in real time? I can't for the life of me figure this out, it feels like it should be pretty simple.

Thanks to anyone who can help me out.

Tick the little speaker icon (next to record). Open up the mixer, and add fx. Tick the speaker (monitor button) to hear it live, then untick once it has recorded.

Should I have the two inputs from the synth assigned to the external instruments section or the inputs section? When it is assigned to inputs I can hear the sound from the midi cannel and I can record but only hear sound on the audio channel when it has been recorded. When it is assigned to the external instruments section I can't record it and of course cannot attach FX to the midi channel the sound is coming from. Where is my stupid mistake here>

Should I have the two inputs from the synth assigned to the external instruments section or the inputs section? When it is assigned to inputs I can hear the sound from the midi cannel and I can record but only hear sound on the audio channel when it has been recorded. When it is assigned to the external instruments section I can't record it and of course cannot attach FX to the midi channel the sound is coming from. Where is my stupid mistake here>

You only want to mess with the audio channel, that's where you need to tick the speaker. The midi channel is for control only. SO whatever channel the synth is recording to, tick the speaker on that audio channel to hear it live, and assign fx on the audio channel.