IGNORED

Live performance knob twiddling tips?

Guest LJG

Hello all-

I'm relatively new to electronic music, and I'm working with the EMX-1 by Korg. On the patterns that I've created and saved, rather a lot goes into the construction of synth parts- and of course the saved patch contains your knob settings.

I'm wondering how people deal with knob settings in realtime performance. Basically, when moving between patterns and patches, if you need to readjust your knob settings for some smooth and seamless tweaking, what methods do you employ? If I'm just working on one tune, I can, in stop time, tweak parameters until "Original Value" is displayed easily enough- but if you want to flow from one patch to another without any break at all, is there a better way?

I suppose I could come up with some charts and draw in the knob settings, but I guess I'm just fishing for experience here.

1) practice

2) funnel realizations practice generates into better patch ideas

100% agreement on the practice principle. The best thing about the EMX-1, imho, is that it is both an instrument (which means you must practice your technique) and also a machine with which the player interacts- both make music, and neither excludes the other. At least in my case. At the moment.

For better patch ideas, can you elaborate a bit for me? What would you say in your experience makes a good patch?

Guest DrHat

1) practice

100% agreement on the practice principle. The best thing about the EMX-1, imho, is that it is both an instrument (which means you must practice your technique) and also a machine with which the player interacts- both make music, and neither excludes the other. At least in my case. At the moment.

For better patch ideas, can you elaborate a bit for me? What would you say in your experience makes a good patch?

it really depends on the instrument, and i don't have an emx-1.