Guest Adjective

POW-R 1

POW-R 2

POW-R 3

Waves L1

Waves L2

iZotope MBIT+ (ExtraBit/MegaBitMax)

i'm sure there are tons more...

i've been using mbit+ just because it's there... and i like the izotope ozone plugin for compressing and such

but i'm not sure i can tell the difference between mbit and pow-r

i haven't tried those offered from the Waves plug-ins though

are there any that you guys don't like and do you know any disadvantages to mbit or pow-r?

----

also, resampling from X -> 44100

and are there better / worse ways to do that?

i usually just do the slowest setting in samplitude

and.. before or after dithering?

While we're on the topic of dithering... how bout an explanation about what it's for? I think I have an idea of what it is and why you'd use it, but lets have an in depth look at just so I can know that if what I know I should be knowing. you know?

Guest Adjective

i'm no expert but here's a collection of my assumptions

when looking at a waveform

sample rate is the horizontal distance between samples

bit depth is the vertical distance between samples

maybe compared to film...

sample rate :: framerate

bit depth :: frame resolution(?)

often people record at higher bit depth and sample rate than their intended target, mix / effects in that resolution and then once the final mix is done they'll adjust it to fit their target medium

often CD

sample rate 44.1 khz

depth 16 bits

but going from 96khz / 24bit to 44.1khz / 16bit you're going to lose data and this can cause artifacts and oddness with your ears.

if you're familiar with image editing and GIFS think about a GIF with a 256 color palette and then reduce it to.. 32 colors or something. if you just straight up chop off those other colors it can get a little blocky and distorted.

but if you use the different dither types like noise/pattern/diffuse you can make the degradation appear more graceful.