IGNORED

KORG EMX-1 or ESX-1

Hey guys,

As I've noted in previous posts, I'm fairly new to electronic music.

I'd like to buy myself a nice drum machine so that I can make good music in my room along with my MicroKorg XL.

Trouble is, I have no experience in drum machines at all.

Recently, when I was searching online for a good drum machine, I came across the KORG EMX-1. I thought that looked great. I then saw the KORG ESX-1, and I have no idea which is better, cheaper and what they do. I have researched them, so don't start telling me to google it.

Have you guys got any advice on which one to buy, which one is better, etc.

Thanks!

I have researched them, so don't start telling me to google it.

er...

and I have no idea which is better, cheaper and what they do.

...what?

You're basically saying you've researched them, and thus you haven't researched them.

On the other hand, I am not an angry man. I will answer your question. The ESX is a sampler; the EMX is a synthesizer. THIS is all you really need to know in which one you should get. Do you want realistic drum sounds, or do you want nifty synthesized hits? Do you want something that can play you synths as well? Personally I'd advise you get the ESX, as with a Microkorg you don't need the synths the EMX offers. However, if you want synthesized drums, you could get the EA-R instead. It's a good deal cheaper and will provide your synthdrum needs.

Guest uptowndevil