IGNORED

painting logs

Guest fiznuthian

Guest fiznuthian

quick question watmm, i'm no artist but i like to paint any abstraction i can conjure up and lately i've been on a kick using any old thing i can find. on my return home my father had chopped a tree up and left it for the garbage collectors. i though the 1' logs would be a perfect painting project to put in my new room, so i loaded those fuckers in my truck and here they are..

problem is, the wood is going to rot eventually no? what can i use to preserve them? i'd like to coat them in some kind of preservative and then coat them in greyscale designs or something. i thought about spraying a bottle of clear artists adhesive all over them and letting em dry.. eh :confused:

Guest Benedict Cumberbatch

i say let them rot. the art is changing maaan

i once did a series of garden paintings which were left out and got mossy and rain damaged.

- real artist

Guest fiznuthian
i say let them rot. the art is changing maaan

i once did a series of garden paintings which were left out and got mossy and rain damaged.

- real artist

i like that ya! but if they rot, which will look cool, you risk them rotting too much and falling apart.. if i could preserve them after the rotting process, that would be awesome.

they're logs from a giant beautiful tree of some kind, almost looks like a palm tree in the green but the wood is much like a thick ass dogwood.

Guest fiznuthian
Use shellac, I have a few old shellac't military plaques that look good as new.

perfect! thank you yegg. :kiss:

Guest fiznuthian
pics of your logs please.

i say leave them natural.

word! i'll take photos of my room tommorrow with the logs.. gotta get my camera.

there's also like, 12-14' branches from the same tree in my room.. gonna chop them up and use hang wire to make designs out of them :D

Guest fiznuthian
great!

gay.. but great!