IGNORED

noisy inputs on hardware effects

Guest uptown devil

Guest uptown devil

howdy,

i bought a roland DEP-5 recently and the inputs are seriously noisy. even the bypass signal sounds completely degraded, especially through the right channel. if i wiggle the input cords i can hear a sort of digital distortion feedback. it almost sounds as if it's rapidly teetering between stereo and mono.

i was thinkin about maybe tryin to replace the input jacks but i've never done anything like it before. are they even the problem?

i should mention that i've pretty much isolated the problem to the inputs of the DEP-5. i've tested other cords and checked all the other devices in the chain separately.

any advice would be appreciated, it sucks not being able to use it.

Guest hahathhat

some gear is just noisy. roland ef-303 i have goes eeeee quietly. puts me off using it most times...

but if one channels is different from the other, i'd try replacing the jacks, yeah.

Guest uptown devil

shit i hope it wouldn't be this noisy naturally, it's pretty much unusable. i guess i'll give replacing the inputs a shot, though i'm not too sure how/where to get the correct parts. any recommendations?

Guest hahathhat

google, maybe ask on the AH mailing list? not entirely on topic but those dudes might know

also, maybe they're 100% bog standard jacks and they sell them for 50c each on the web -- not all these parts are rare unique jewels!

always a good policy to open it up and have a looksee for any obvious problems if you aren't a klutz.

Guest uptown devil

awesome, didn't even think of analoghaven.. that's a really good idea. you might be right about them being standard jacks, too. might as well take a look inside for the time being.

thanks for the help dude.

Guest Scrambled Ears