IGNORED

New member seeking advice!

Guest JoshLind

Guest JoshLind

So I'm VERY new to the electronic music making scene. I've had no history with making music, no courses or family/friends to show me the ropes, and I was never any good at playing instruments. But I LOVE music, and I constantly "hear" new tunes in my head. I want to be able to reproduce what I think of, and that is my goal with making music.

Anyways, long story short, what I work with is Ableton Live. I have the Massive plugin installed, but try to avoid using it. I really need to learn to make every sound from scratch so that I have ultimate freedom to create what I want to hear.

So here is some of my stuff, ANY advice or criticism or ideas or tips would be GREATLY appreciated!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z30YsRX6FlU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bndGYP2Ytu8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUSZSeESPqw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLD0NwAgUaQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTumM9iwNFk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1wLSnaTSE0

The last two were kind of an experiment at using a beat I made to mash with hip-hop acapelas, it was a friend's idea. I liked it, but I'd prefer to use original acapelas from either friends, myself, or maybe someone on the forum who raps/sings?

didn't listened what you posted yet but first I just want to say all what you wrote concerning your feelings as a musician beginner corresponds to what I felt when I was starting to make music as well.

And I definitely encourage you to keep your angle about trying to make all the sounds by scratch. Even if it will take you a lot more time than if you used some complex / preset based plugins, you will learn a lot more IMO. After more than four years of musicmaking, I think my sound is still draft, but I can hear the aim of it. And aim is what lacks a lot in pre-programmed synths most of the time.

ok now i'm going to listen to your music :)