IGNORED

Humour me for a minute

Blir

Lets say, hypothetically, I wanted to fuck about with some hardware, make some tunes hardware only or mostly and I have no knowledge of where to start. I'm a dummy. I'm looking for a barebones hardware set up, what kit ideally would be good for someone new to this, kinda thing, and I'm not talking top of the range, amazing shit, I mean stuff that gets the job done soundwise and is reliable and easy enough to get my head around.

Suggestions would be great, cheers.

seriously...

cheap way - MC-303/505 all in one

wereas personally i like sperate drum boxes and sepreate bass or pads or whatever...synth... so my 'expensive way'///...

Expensive way - a boss/roland/yammaha/ style drum machine and maybe somthing like a Korg micro synth (prefibliy a midi style synth, then you;d need to get a 707 or some midi output on the drum machine to sync shit up.. unless you wanna play real time..)

though if you want to go well minimal.. and make music, i personally go as minimal as just a Sh-101 and Tr-606, give or take an ESQ-1 or tr-707,

when im full blown out.. i use xx ammount of tracks on ableton, 3 drum machines (zoom,606,707), 1 mono synth(101), 1 bass synth(303), 1 poly synth (esq1), A sampler (sk5), a commodore 64 with prophit 64 and other radicle c= music tapes(programes), and an external fx box (boss se-70)

^ that was my basic set up for v/vms cassette tape tracks vol.2

Guest Adjective

laptop + midi controller + renoise + microphone(or field recorder)

if i had to get "hardware" then i'd look at a sampler with lots of flash memory and a TR-style sequencer

Guest Vegeta897

As an owner of the three MKII series of Electribes and wanting to do the same thing you want, I'd say go for the Electribes.