IGNORED

DAW based samplers - what creative parameters for quick access?

Hi Everyone :)

I'm slowly working my way through a shed load of my Zoom samples, slicing out the good bits and putting the final samples into a drum rack containing 'nested' samplers in Ableton. So this means I can use one pad for upto 127 samples and I cycle between then via macros in Ableton.

I've mapped pitch transposition, ADSR, Velocity-Volume and sample volume from the sampler to the rack's macros but I think it would be good to map more things so I can do creative tweaks live other than volume envelope stuff.

What aspects of a sample to you automate/generally twiddle with for creative effect?

I'm new to sampling but really enjoy it. It feels great to be creating with your own sounds...something I've always wanted to achieve.

I listen to a lot of Aphex and Squarepusher and I think there is a lot of glitchy sounds created via sampler parameter manipulation so what else would you consider? I'm hoping to use this rack as the basis for all my Zoom recordings ever so I want to get it right.

CHEERS :music:

real-time beat slicing can go a long way with long field recordings (especially percussive ones like hitting different objects all in succession)

sample re-triggering is an older-school way of doing stutter/glitch sounds with samples. Battery has a particularly good re-trigger function

Hi Everyone :)

I'm slowly working my way through a shed load of my Zoom samples, slicing out the good bits and putting the final samples into a drum rack containing 'nested' samplers in Ableton. So this means I can use one pad for upto 127 samples and I cycle between then via macros in Ableton.

I've mapped pitch transposition, ADSR, Velocity-Volume and sample volume from the sampler to the rack's macros but I think it would be good to map more things so I can do creative tweaks live other than volume envelope stuff.