IGNORED

Computer music.

Guest Thisket

Guest Thisket

So... I had some high hopes of making some music with my computer (can you believe it?!), and tried Max/MSP, thinking that it would give me the best creative control and interesting abilities.

Ummm... so after not knowing what I was doing for a couple of hours, I am lead to think that making music with a computer involves annoying programs like FLoops and that mess. I hear all this nice music made by these nice folding boxes, and get really ticked off because it just looks like a long tunnel of Abeltons and .vsts is looming in front of me.

Is this all there is?

I really apologize for being such an annoying baby, but I figured that you lot would know more than me.

P.S., in case you're thinking that I'm an ultra-annoying baby trying to find something to do with my time, I have been making music with hardware for a couple of years. I've tried to stay away from CPU stuff, but now I'm just too poor and envious. I'd love to use a CPU for creative abilities, but thinking about all these annoying, overformatted, 16-step, bullshit programs makes me depressed.

you don't have to use floops (btw the steps can be extended behond 16, or you can use the piano-roll) or ableton. you could use cubase or a tracker, like renoise... VSTs are great man. you can automate all the knobs and stuff. fun.

if you want to use something like max/msp, yeah, you're going to have to put a lot of time into learning it. i think it's more for programmers than musicians/amateur knob twiddlers (or a combination at least.. technically minded musicians). it's great as a sound source but i was lost trying to make something very basic with it.

get reaktor....its more intuitive...

do you make music entirely with reaktor?

Guest blicero
When most people want to learn to play guitar, they don't try to build the guitar first.

my thought exactly.

when you made music with hardware, did you build the hardware first?