IGNORED

ground loop interference

kaini

for about a year i have had a mental problem, where teh sound from winamp used to glitch in an almost bufferoverride stylee when i used the scroll wheel on my mouse

i always figured that it was the fact my pc is shit and overloaded (even though it didn't appear to be in taskman) - so i engaged in the usual troubleshooting, msconfig, different browser, different media player (quite glad i switched to foobar) - but couldn't crack the bitch

tonight i had to disassemble my kit cos i was painting, and when i plugged everything back in, the plug configuration was a bit different for the sake of neatness

the scrollwheel glitch problem is now gone

fucking bizarre. i work in tech support, and this is a new one on me.

Guest hahathhat

i don't think it was a ground loop, more likely radio interference between the mouse cable and an audio one

ground loops are a 60hz bzzzzzzzzzzzz too, not buffer override-style glitch.

yeah, but the electronic music used to wear a bit thin when reading a long article and listening to eno or stars of the lid or whatevs

anyway, bizarre problem

Guest hahathhat

crazier id: some bus, pci, northbridge junction is really loaded up. mouse fires off a torrent of interrupts, stealing enough attention from the audio that quality suffers.

solution, independent of cause: junk the shitbucket man, if it sucks don't use it

its interference on one of the interrupt lines, firing off spurious interrupts.. sjust electrical coupling noise, only thing you can do is move your soundcard as far away from the cpu/alu as possible, or magnetically shield you soundcard. i wouldnt worry about it

Guest hahathhat

i always heard the deal about keeping the soundcard as far away from other cards as you can... and just 'cos it's no real hassle, i usually try to do that. sometimes, it means moving a bunch of cards, so i skip it. never had any problems.