IGNORED

Unemployment

Guest Gary C

Unemployment  

112 members have voted

1. 1. What's your current employment status?

• Employed (not looking for another job)
    • Employed (but still looking)
    • Part-time (not looking)
    • Part-time (but still looking)
    • Unemployed (not looking)
    • Unemployed (but still looking)
    • Other (student, retired)
    • Self-employed
  2. 2. Happy with your financial situation?

• Yes
    • No

Guest Gary C

With massive unemployment in the UK it seems increasingly more difficult to find a job, and therefore harder to keep the one you may have already, and this worries me.

I'm interested to know whether WATMM works, and if we can ride the economic storm.

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest nacmat

employed

but could be fired any minute

I am an architect and right now in spain nobody builds anything at all

so the studio I work for doesnt have enough incomes to pay all of us... this has been the situation since november and in the last 7 months we have gone from 85 people to 60 and counting

well, lets see if luck stays a little longer

Guest Gary C

I've been working part-time as a bartender for a year, whilst sporadically (and somewhat reluctantly) looking for a more substantial job elsewhere. But in recent weeks, mainly due to women, I've been spending more than I've been earning and felt a bit shit this morning when I saw my bank statement.

I have a degree in Journalism, which doesn't count for much in the industry outside of an economic slump anyway. So today I've applied for a list of jobs I wouldn't particularly be happy to do, but would be willing to try for at least a couple of months; litter-picking between 5am-8am being one of them.

Employed, happy with wage & type of work and the company is doing great. A lot of people getting fired in the sector though, but I'm not worried. I'm 21, no responsibilities and lots of open doors.

Guest Benedict Cumberbatch
need an option for self-employed