IGNORED

Edward Bernays

marf

Yes, a very interesting documentary series. I'm surprised it was a BBC documentary though -- I wonder what time it went out on TV because it goes against a lot of what mainstream television media is about.

Amazing, really. This stuff is being used big time by the Fox news crowd. I wouldn't be surprised if glen beck has a Ed Bernays book locked in a velvet lined safe . God/Money..say it together. Conservative/Values..say it together enough times . They must be the same thing

Amazing, really. This stuff is being used big time by the Fox news crowd. I wouldn't be surprised if glen beck has a Ed Bernays book locked in a velvet lined safe . God/Money..say it together. Conservative/Values..say it together enough times . They must be the same thing

You're right, both correlate together very strongly..

Now that you've posted this topic, I'll go back to it to watch it again tonight. I'm a psychology student so anything like this is of great interest to me. Conventional psychology in universities does not really discuss people like Bernays, which is unfortunate. I haven't yet finished my degree but as far as I've researched, the most universities would go up to is Freud, when really he wasn't as 'important' as Bernays because Bernays was the one who actually implemented some theories of Freud in the world of PR. By the way this post seems as though I admire Bernays -- it's quite the opposite I can assure you of that. Manipulating the minds of the public for a profit is totally corrupt and anti-human.

BBC produces many excellent documentaries, I don't know why you'd be surprised at this (ps this is from 2002). And if you watch the doc, you'll see that the democratic party in the states and new labour in Britain used plenty of these theories in their return to power in the 90s. Glen Beck with a book? I think you're giving him too much credit....