IGNORED

why does my soundcard hum?

POLYMAN

i recently bought myself a powered mixer and i noticed a loud hum when i plug my external laptop soundcard into it.i tried different leads,etc into it but the hum never went away.i never got a hum from my non-powered mixer.i just got a new soundcard which had balanced outputs and i thought that this may be the cure for the hum as my old soundcard had unbalanced outputs.i still had the same problem.

what the fuck can i do to cure this bitch.i'm pretty new to doing live stuff with a computer and i have a few more gigs lined up i got to sort this stuff out quick.do i need a DI box?learning about this stuff is proving to be quite expensive.

I had this - is your laptop plugged into the mains when you put it into the mixer? Just try unplugging it and run on batteries....

BCM hats off to you man that running just off batteries did the job.though i would prefer being able to run off the mains.will what logan five said about the ground loop DI thing enable me to do that.it certainly seems like it must be a mains related problem.

Guest maoam

i fixed this by wrapping some tape around the ground pin of my laptop psu so it wasnt getting connected. from a safety aspect i felt ok about it since my laptop case is plastic if a short does occur.

to be safe plug it out as soon as your finished with it, or take the tape off. its a quick and dirty solution but it means you dont have to worry about batteries running out. needless to say dont do this if your laptop has a metal case.

BCM hats off to you man that running just off batteries did the job.though i would prefer being able to run off the mains.will what logan five said about the ground loop DI thing enable me to do that.it certainly seems like it must be a mains related problem.

yes it should.

i wouldn't advise running your lappy without the earth pin connected.