IGNORED

Making music with hardware

Guest illway

Guest illway

Hey guys, I've been listening to electronic music for quite some time and like a lot of you, I've had an interest to make some of my own. Rather than go the software route, I'd like to dabble with hardware. I'm majoring in electrical engineering at the moment, though I'm only on my second year and still don't know nearly enough.

Regards, what books and readings would you recommend to get started. As I stated, I'd like to stay away from software and much as possible and learn about the hardware.

I will get you some names and links, unless someone beats me to it. BUt just to let you know there are TONS of build it yourself (DIY) kits available for a very wide array of synth and drum machine type boxes. Should be up your alley. There's also tons of great hardware for people just starting out, and it's affordable. I recommend checking out the korg electribe series.

bbl with some more stuff

sound on sound magazines "synth secrets" is a must read.

As is honestly the nord lead 1 manual. Total intro to synthesis and presented in their awesomely laid out panel style. If you get a nord lead to go along with it, bonus, but that may be a bit pricey just getting into things, and being on a student budget.

Guest illway

Where are you studying?

University of Delaware.

While I'm at it, what options are available for me with a degree in electric engineering that relates to music?

As is honestly the nord lead 1 manual. Total intro to synthesis and presented in their awesomely laid out panel style. If you get a nord lead to go along with it, bonus, but that may be a bit pricey just getting into things, and being on a student budget.

absolutely.