IGNORED

gain setting in ableton's external audio effect plugin

d-a-m-o

sorry this is a total noob question :

I want to set up an hardware delay on a return track in ableton.

everything is set but I got a question regarding the input and output gain of the plugin and peak level :

what is an acceptable peak level for the in and for the out ?

I tend to aim for 'keep in the greens and occasionally hit the yellows' - That way you have enough headroom to play with stuff later down the chain. Think that's generally around the -12db mark....

No. The manual addresses your question only by saying to avoid clipping. There's too many factors related to each individual's hardware and software involved to have a 'standard peak level' beyond don't clip: mcbpete's response is your best guide imo.

Go 24bit, get 144dB of dynamic range and try to have all your peaks under -16dB FS. I’ve read countless times from quite reliable source that it’s most AD/DAs analogue path sweetspots : the more headroom the better, and S/N ratio is a non-issue when recording and mixing in 24bit. Use a gain plugin afterwards if needed.

Absolutely, though (when thinking about this last week) there's obviously a s/n concern if using an external hardware delay unit - If it's a new fangled digital delay you'll probably be fine at this level but if it's like an old 1st gen Roland RE-201 you'll probably want to be feeding a considerably louder signal than -16db into it to minimise the impact of the noise floor.