IGNORED

how many times have you played 'live'?

modey

13 times for me, and that includes a self-organised house party, a 15 minute set between two grindcore bands, and a couple of failed gigs.

considering i've been making electronic music for over 10 years, and my first gig was in 2001, 13 isn't a lot, is it?

Guest Tamas

I've played 6 times, though one of those times was strictly for friends (with about 25 people I suppose?) and one was a complete failure for me as well. I try to only do a show when I have at least half of a set that is *completely* new material though, which is why I haven't played much (my first live set was a little over 2 years ago). I'm probably going to play one more show while I'm in Montreal, so it'll be 7 in less than 2 months.

Honestly I'm more of a studio album person, I like to twiddle knobs as much as the next guy, buuut I like the feeling of mastering something perfectly and imagining people playing it at the perfect volume in the comfort of their own homes. I hate it when I play a live show and the mixing people turn it too high, etc.

Oh, and I used to work in a store, and I'd play my music there all the time, does that count? Honestly it was the best place to get real feedback (or an idea of what the average person thought). Everyone would be sober, and since no one would know that it was my music, they wouldn't be taken aback about saying something negative about it... Thankfully though no one said anything negative about it. =P

20 times my own electronic material

5 times shared electronic material

over 100 times with a band shared material again

playing live is what music is all about for me. the feeling of being in front of people responding to your music and then getting feedback after the show is one of the best things in the world.