IGNORED

Question for those who make music

Guest southside jim

Guest southside jim

I've wondered this for a while..

When you guys make a song, do you sit down knowing in your head what you want to make, or do you sit down and just let it come to you? I have no experience in making music (i just can't do it) but when I take photos, there are times when I have the exact photo I want in my head and it's just a matter of making it happen. Is it like this when you guys make music?

I don't have much music making experience, but for me I usually sit down with something in mind, but by the time I'm finished noodling with the first element, I completely forget where I was going to take it. I'd be interested to see how more experienced people differ in this.

Guest Blanket Fort Collapse

Little of both most of the time. Sometimes I have almost no idea even what kind of vibe I am going for. It can be trail and error endless experimentation until I figure out what I am feeling the most. If you approach creating music the same way every time I think it would get boring.

FYI this is probably much more suited for the EKT forum BTW

sometimes have a general idea of what genre or sound i want to go for. like sometimes i think I'll just decide "i'm going to write some minimal techno god dammit and i'm going to enjoy it! it's going to sound great and i'm going to do a good job!" then it's no good because i've failed to do the natural thing and therefor the music is truly devoid of soul and it is an abomination.

i think the key is to flow like water when you're making music and let it exist on its own terms.

then there is the truly great method of having it all in your mind clearly and putting in the ridiculous amounts of very real and actually extremely hard work to bring it into existence.