Jump to content


Join WATMM Now!

Register and Subscribe now for as little 3.00 USD for one year to gain Supporting Member access. We also have other subscription packages to choose from that grant you extra abilities and features.

A subscription is required in order to post, reply to posts, start topics, search, and other features.

By joining and subscribing, you are helping support the forums, as well enable us to add new features and enhancements (and maintain them).

Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

To sign up for a subscription package, click your user name in the upper right, and choose "Client Area". Then, choose a package that suits your needs.

This message will be removed once you have signed in.


Any Vsts that allow standalone filter drawing?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Brisbot

Brisbot

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,764 posts
  • 86 topics
  • Joined 01-November 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Not Selected

Posted 28 November 2018 - 04:34 PM

To better explain. I am looking for standalone vsts that allow you to 'draw' your own filter. Kind of like the filter in harmor, except I want that kind of filter as a vst you can stick in FX to where you can use it with any sound. Also the ability to retrig w/ midi.

I can't seem to find any. There must be some large technical hurdle to doing so when making it separate from. I know the harmor is set up to where it filters things out by lowering individual osc level, so making it standalone is out of the question there.

I could use an EQ but I'd need full features of a filter.


Edited by Brisbot, 28 November 2018 - 04:38 PM.


#2 mcbpete

mcbpete

    <3 everything

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,143 posts
  • 179 topics
  • Joined 01-July 01
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lahndahn Tahn
  • Country:United Kingdom

Posted 28 November 2018 - 05:08 PM

I guess a 'spectral filter' might be the sort of thing you're looking for eg Soundhack's Morphfilter:

morphfilter.png

http://www.soundhack...ectral-shapers/

#3 ignatius

ignatius

    2K, On My Way

  • Members Plus
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,572 posts
  • 14 topics
  • Joined 11-October 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:public shitting, Oregon
  • Country:United States

Posted 28 November 2018 - 05:51 PM

there's some spectral processors that work that way and more or less do the same thing. 

 

http://www.expertsle...alconquest.html

 

 

and for way more than just filtering plus a wickedly awesome modulation system.. 

 

https://www.unfilter...roducts/specops

 



#4 RSP

RSP

    2K, On My Way

  • Members Plus
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,541 posts
  • 27 topics
  • Joined 05-May 15
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:The underground aqueduct that connects us to the Lagoon City
  • SoundCloud URL:https://soundcloud.com/tubularcorporation
  • Country:Not Selected

Posted 30 November 2018 - 10:26 AM

I havent used Harmor but it looks like the "filters" aren't actually filters since it's an additive synth, the"filters" are probably actually a plot of relative overtone levels..  So yeah, I'd agree that some kind of spectral filtering is probably the closest you'll get in the subtractive world.  IF you could find a copy of Spectrumworx you might be able to do something similar, although I don't know if it lets you draw curves and it's discontinued.

 

ReaFIR can get in to some similar territory (and is also great for noise reduction) and it's free.

 

Usine has spectral filtering patches included in the standard library but it's not a plugin.


Edited by RSP, 30 November 2018 - 10:27 AM.


#5 RSP

RSP

    2K, On My Way

  • Members Plus
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,541 posts
  • 27 topics
  • Joined 05-May 15
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:The underground aqueduct that connects us to the Lagoon City
  • SoundCloud URL:https://soundcloud.com/tubularcorporation
  • Country:Not Selected

Posted 30 November 2018 - 10:52 AM

VirSyn Cube has a freeform spectral filter but I don't know if it would work on input in real time, you might have to load a prerendered sample in first.  Have to go to work so I don't have time to look deeper.



#6 Brisbot

Brisbot

    2K, On My Way

  • Knob Twiddlers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,764 posts
  • 86 topics
  • Joined 01-November 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Country:Not Selected

Posted 09 December 2018 - 10:44 PM

Thanks for the answers guys I'll be going down the spectral filtering rabbit hole it looks like.