IGNORED

Midi Sequencer

bossman

Hey, I have a YamahaAN200 desktop synth, it has a very rad PLG150 board inside that I can tweak w/ an old software editor, BUT the 16-step sequencer fucks up whenever I try to chain patterns together, it skips the first few steps when it makes transitions, so I was hoping somebody could recommend amazing midi sequencers I could try out as a master. I'm totally new to this.thx

depending on how much you want to spend I would recommend:

Analogue Solutions Europa

Doepfer MAQ 16/3

MFB Step64

Future Retro Orb

all the above are fantastic pattern sequencers, but most are quite expensive. they are all best suited to making analogue style acidy type patterns, basslines and lead synth lines.

the only other sequencers you can buy new are things like the Yamaha QY range and the various Grooveboxes on the market. They're all a bit shit though really.

I see.. the yamahaQY's are looking more my price range.

have you used one? looks like QY100>70>22>10 but wondering if a cheaper 70/22 will do what I want. just want to chain basslines and leads... you know if storage is an issue? qy100 has the smartmedia drive, but do you need it??

i used to have a QY70 and a QY10 yeah, used them for ages to sequence a Creamware Pro-12 and an Alesis Micron, as well as using the drum and synth sounds on the QY70. to be honest i have got a bit of a soft spot for the QY series really, but i did eventually get tired of the constant fiddlyness of scrolling through different menus and programming patterns on the little keyboard. i sold them a while back and now use Cubase and a Future Retro Revolution for sequencing. anyway, they're pretty powerful little sequencers and you can get some good results so yeah go for it - you can always sell it again if you don't like it i guess...

edit: storage was never an issue for me

Guest Ramses