IGNORED

EQ/Mastering question

Guest fox

so i'll start off by saying i'm no audio/mastering whiz. i know my way around a sound editor but i'm no producer. so i have copies of Team Doyobi's Wheels of Anterion on (legit) mp3 and the eq-ing is way off. i suspect that the master used to cut the 7" was used as the source for the mp3 - it's really bass heavy and way out of balance.

so here's the question - i know there's a standard curve used to eq vinyl and cut it, so how do i compensate for this in audacity or somesuch?

I suggest you lower the bass and make the higher frequences a bit louder but not too much so you won't have a crackling noise all over the recording. Middle frequences should be alright.

I'm no expert here, but that doesn't make any sense. Usually stuff mastered for vinyl is about the same. Or if anything, less bass frequencies. Are your speakers fucked up?

i suspect that the master used to cut the 7" was used as the source for the mp3 - it's really bass heavy and way out of balance.

you are incorrect, the RIAA curve is such that the vinyl is cut with bass frequencies reduced

i suspect that the master used to cut the 7" was used as the source for the mp3 - it's really bass heavy and way out of balance.

you are incorrect, the RIAA curve is such that the vinyl is cut with bass frequencies reduced

I gotta concur with my main man oscillik here. Also the RIAA curve isn't added during the mastering, but during the cut itself (again, as far as I know). So the vinyl master files would sound "normal".